

Podiatry Programs at SMU

Samuel Merritt University has one degree program leading to the Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (DPM) licensure: the Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (DPM) program. SMU's DPM program is accredited by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education (CPME). Graduates of Samuel Merritt University's DPM program are eligible to sit for the APMLE Part III examination offered by the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners in all US states, territories, and commonwealths, with the exceptions noted below. However, DPM licenses are granted by the licensing authority in individual states and certain licensing boards may have other licensing requirements specific to that state. Admission to and graduation from CPM does not guarantee licensure for the practice of podiatric medicine. Graduates of Samuel Merritt University's Doctor of Podiatric Medicine program who successfully complete Parts I, II and III of the American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examination (APMLE), and who satisfactorily complete a residency training program, are eligible to apply for licensure to practice podiatric medicine in the State of California as well as other states. Prior to enrollment, prospective students must review the information below.

The <u>Podiatric Medical Board of California (PMBC)</u> is the licensing authority for podiatrists in California and may require additional coursework beyond the courses completed by graduates of SMU's DPM program in order to obtain a DPM license. Samuel Merritt University will assist applicants and students as they determine licensure requirements in other states. Please contact Dr. Mark Razzante (mrazzante@samuelmerritt.edu), Interim Dean, College of Podiatric Medicine, for more information. Information about the specific licensing requirements by state or province for licensing boards outside of California can be found on the following page on the Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards (FPMB).

States/Territories/Commonwealths for which SMU's Podiatric Medicine program MEETS the educational requirements for licensure or certification:

 All US states (with the exceptions noted below), the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands

States/Territories/Commonwealths for which SMU's Podiatric Medicine program MAY NOT MEET the educational requirements for licensure or certification:

• American Samoa, Colorado, Federated States of Micronesia, Illinois, Montana, Republic of Palau, and Republic of the Marshall Islands

Updated: October 2024